Circuit Court Rules for Seven Jockeys, Ending Five-Year Saga


Bailey Glasser has obtained a complete victory for its clients Luis Perez, Anthony Mawing, Dale Whitaker, Lawrence Reynolds, Jesus Sanchez, Alexis Rios-Conde, and Tony Maragh, jockeys who ride at the Charles Town Races. In 2009, the jockeys were accused of conspiring with the Clerk of Scales to ride at improper weights and were summarily suspended and fined. Bailey Glasser lawyers Ben Bailey, Chris Morris, and John Barrett litigated the matter, with Barrett obtaining an injunction to allow the jockeys to continue to race while they appealed.  Bailey and Morris represented the jockeys at their evidentiary hearing before the West Virginia Racing Commission, before the West Virginia Supreme Court on an interlocutory appeal, and before the Kanawha Count Circuit Court on their administrative appeal. On September 4, 2014, Circuit Court Judge Paul Zakaib ruled that the evidence was insufficient to sustain any charge levied against the jockeys, vindicating their professional character and granting them a complete victory in the matter.

Jump to Page

Our website uses cookies to enhance site navigation, analyze site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to browse this website, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.